The journey in one slide

I am in nursing school now and extern on an inpatient oncology floor.  I love my patients…I can finish every sentence in my mind, I know every look, I can feel every sigh as though it was yesterday.  We are studying Oncology in our High Acuity class this week and my notes from this slide sum up our 5 year battle.

Goals Treatment

Cure – Hope for cure

Control – if no cure – but can maintain =change game plan = Hope for control

Palliation – if can’t cure/control = relief & control symptoms = Hope for peaceful death

We hoped through every stage and asked God to lead us to the next…He rewarded us with a peaceful death.

If my demeanor, my smile, the look in my eyes can share a piece of that Hope we knew my time in that room was well spent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment